READERS & WRITERS CALENDAR: APRIL 9-16

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

 

By Sam Warren, copyright 2017

April 8, 2017 (San Diego) – Whether you’re looking to write your first novel, meet a novelist, or hear from the White House insider who disclosed President Nixon’s secret taping system, you’ll find a trove of events for readers and writers in San Warren’s literary calendar this week.

READERS

THEATER REVIEWS

www.sdTheatreReviews.com and www.sdtheatrescene.com

SAN DIEGO PUBLIC LIBRARY CALENDAR OF EVENTS

http://sdpl.bwcs-hosting.com/cal/main/showMain.rdo

KPBS ONE-BOOK CALENDAR

http://www.kpbs.org/one-book/

* * * *

April 9 (Sunday, 12:00 pm) — As part of our ongoing Weekend with Locals Program we will be hosting Amanda Matti, author of A Foreign Affair

Warwick's Books, 7812 Girard Ave, La Jolla (858) 454-0347, For additional information, go to http://www.warwicks.com/.

April 9 (Sunday, 2:00 pm) — Attendees of the Southern California Writers Conference and the Writers Coffeehouse are likely to already be familiar with local suspense author Indy Quillen. Indy notes on her website, “I like feeling self-reliant. Knowing I have the skills and knowledge to cope with emergencies or natural disasters gives me a peace of mind. I may never need those skills – but it’s nice to have them, all the same. As I venture into this brave new world of publishing, I sense new adventures and more ways to learn self–reliance. I hope you’ll stick around to see what happens and share your experiences as well.” In Pursuit, Fox Walker is assigned to track an ex-SEAL accused of murder who has escaped into the Colorado wilderness; Nataya, whom Walker rescued in Quillen’s debut, Tracker, is determined to prove her worth as Walker’s partner, and the FBI has its own reasons for pursuing the pursued.

Read More: http://www.mystgalaxy.com/event/indy-quillen-signs-san-diego-0

Mysterious Galaxy, 5943 Balboa Ave, Suite 100, San Diego. For additional information, go to http://www.mystgalaxy.com/ or call (858) 268-4747.

April 9 (Sunday,2:pm)Alexander P. Butterfield will discuss Bob Woodward’s book The Last of the President’s at D.G. Wills Books at Grard Avenue, La Jolla, 858-456-1800, www.dgwillsbooks.com.

“There’s more to the story of Nixon,” confided Alexander P. Butterfield, the aide who disclosed the president’s greatest secret – the taping system that provided the evidence of his Watergate crimes and ended the Nixon presidency. For three years as Deputy Assistant to the President, working and watching from an office adjoining the Oval Office, Butterfield was often the first to see Nixon in the morning and the last at night, the ultimate insider and the most dangerous witness. Butterfield supervised the installation of the taping system and was one of a handful who knew about it. Even Nixon’s top aides, Henry Kissinger and John Ehrlichman, were not aware of it. In his memoir RN, the president wrote that he believed the secret “would never be revealed.”

Butterfield’s insights reveal Nixon’s secrets, rages, obsessions and deceptions; and his vindictive preoccupation with disinformation and suppression of the press, especially The New York Times and The Washington Post. Sound familiar? Pulitzer Prize Washington Post investigative journalist Bob Woodward describes the intense drama of Butterfield’s struggle and why and how he changed history.

Alexander P. Butterfield attended UCLA, the University of Maryland, George Washington University, the National War College and the National Defense University. During his Air Force career, Col. Butterfield flew ninety-eight combat and reconnaissance missions during the Vietnam War and was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross. He later served as a military assistant to the Secretary and Deputy Secretary of Defense, and was senior U.S. military officer in Australia. After leaving the White House, he served as Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration.

April 10 (Monday, 11:00 am) — Join Warwick's for Storytime with their guest reader The Blue Crayon.

Warwick's Books, 7812 Girard Ave, La Jolla (858) 454-0347, For additional information, go to http://www.warwicks.com/

April 11 (Tuesday, 7:30 pm) — Guest host Clairemont author T. Greenwood (The Golden Hour) celebrated Jesse Edward Johnson’s debut: “Lester Smith, the unlikely hero of this coming-of age story, captivates even as he infuriates. He’s snarky and smart and will totally break your heart. For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Yearbook is your next favorite read.” Jesse is an artist, whose works include author portraits made of text and combining his writing (in regular type) and quotation (in italics). The result is a dialogue, of a kind, between the subject of the portrait and Jesse.

Read More: http://www.mystgalaxy.com/event/jessie-edward-johnson-signs-san-diego

Mysterious Galaxy, 5943 Balboa Ave, Suite 100, San Diego. For additional information, go to http://www.mystgalaxy.com/ or call (858) 268-4747.

April 12 (Wednesday, 7:00 pm) — The monthly San Diego Book Discussion Group is facilitated by Fearless Leader Christine. Participation is open to all readers; readers need not have completed a particular book to attend – it’s the perfect opportunity to branch out and find new favorites! Attendees receive 20% off of the current book club selection, Paul Tremblay’s A Head Full of Ghosts. Io9 noted, “A Head Full of Ghosts is a brilliant book that follows a New England family in their descent into madness, following in the footsteps of some of the genre’s greats, such as Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House or Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper.”

Read More: http://www.mystgalaxy.com/event/san-diego-book-discussion-group-16

Mysterious Galaxy, 5943 Balboa Ave, Suite 100, San Diego. For additional information, go to http://www.mystgalaxy.com/ or call (858) 268-4747.

April 13 (Thursday, 7:30 pm) — Warwick's will host Austin Choi-Fitzpatrick to discuss and sign his book What Slave Holders Think. Austin Choi-Fitzpatrick is assistant professor of political sociology at the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies at the University of San Diego. He is the coeditor of From Human Trafficking to Human Rights: Reframing Contemporary Slavery (2012), and his work has appeared in the Journal of Human Rights, Social Movement Studies, the Columbia Journal of International Affairs, Social Problems, and the Journal for the Theory of Social Behavior. All royalties from this book will be donated to Free the Slaves and Anti-Slavery International.

Read More: http://www.warwicks.com/event/austin-choi-fitzpatrick-2017

Warwick's Books, 7812 Girard Ave, La Jolla (858) 454-0347, For additional information, go to http://www.warwicks.com/

April 15 (Saturday, 2:00 pm) — Enjoy an exhibit from the East County Rose Society while we discuss Jane Austen's novel Emma.

We invite you to bing your own fancy teacup (or use our paper one), and encourage you to dress for the occasion. Jeanne Talbot of the Jane Austen Society will faciliatge the book discussin, and the East Counthy Rose Society's prise blooms will be on show all day.

Alpne Branch Library, 1752 Alpine Blvd., Alpne.

BOOKS BY OLIN THOMPSON

Local author Olin Thompson has written over 20 exciting adventure books in hardback and eBooks including police procedural, crime, mystery, western and military. They can be ordered through Amazon or at: http://olin-thompson.com/books.html.

* * * *

WRITERS

Workshops, Classes, Seminars, Book Festivals,

Contests, Workshops, Classes, Seminars, Book Festivals,

Contests and Authors Exhibits

http://SDWriteWay.org

* * * *

SAN DIEGO WRITERS INC CLASSES

Go to: http://www.sandiegowriters.org for a complete list of all the classes & Events for Writers Ink.

OASIS CLASSES

For additional information go to https://www.oasisnet.org/San-Diego-CA/Classes.

* * * *

April 10 (Monday) — Deadline for SD- Society of Professional Journalist awards contest entries.

Please send all notices to: SDWriteWay@gmail.com with Month, Date, Weekday, and time first. Deadline is Friday midnight. Send us your address if you wish to receive a copy of this weekly eZine.